Amosun’s candidate, three other Rep members defect to other parties

Adekunle Akinlade, the man Ogun State Governor, Ibikunle Amosun, selected as his successor, has dumped the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

Mr Akinlade on Thursday formally announced his defection to the Allied People’s Movement (APM).

Mr Akinlade, a member of the House of Representatives, defected alongside three other members of the House.

The other members are Rabiu Kaugama (Jigawa) who moved from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the Social Democratic Party (SDP), Mohammed Ajanah (Kogi) from APC to PDP and Salisu Koko (Kebbi) from APC to SDP.

Their defections were announced at the House of Representatives on Thursday.

Mr Akinlade’s formal defection is coming few days to the Independent National Electoral Commission’s deadline for substitution of governorship candidates.

The Ogun politician was declared the winner in a controversial governorship primary conducted by the Ogun APC chapter backed by Mr Amosun.

However, the national headquarters of the APC rejected that primary and accepted that conducted by a committee sent by the headquarters to Ogun State. The latter primary produced Dapo Abiodun as APC governorship candidate.

The happenings in Ogun has caused a bitter rivalry between Mr Amosun and APC national chairman, Adams Oshiomhole.

Mr Amosun is one of the three governors believed to be demanding the exit of Mr Oshiomhole as party chairman.

Facebook Comments

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker