10 Senators Face Suspension For Opposing Election Order

Ten senators who opposed the amendment of the Electoral Act may be suspended.

SenatorsThe controversial amendment reordered the sequence of elections by placing the Senate and the House of Representatives elections first, followed by governorship and House of Assembly elections and the presidential election last.

Following the adoption of the conference report on the amendment, Senator Ovie Omo-Agege (Delta Central), led other nine senators to describe the amendment as “unconstitutional” and “an attempt in futility”.

The nine other senators are: Abdullahi Adamu, Abu Ibrahim, Benjamin Uwajumogu, Ali Wakil, Abdullahi Gumel, Binta Masi Garba, Yahaya Abdullahi, Andrew Uchendu and Umaru Kurfi.

The plan to probe the conduct of the senators followed the adoption of a motion of by Senator Dino Melaye (Kogi West) on the issue.

Melaye said Senator Omo-Agege and others misled Nigerians by claiming that the target of the amendment was President Buhari.

The Kogi West senator, who cited Order 14 of the Senate Standing Rules, prayed his colleagues to refer the matter to the Ethics, Privileges and Public Petitions committee to investigate the claims made by the 10 senators.

“I want to ask that this statement made by Omo-Agege, among other statements, be investigated by the committee on Ethics, Privileges and Public Petitions. They need to find out if our actions were targeted at the President. Another interview was granted by the same senator,” Melaye said

Deputy Senate President Ike Ekweremadu, who presided, subjected the prayer to a voice vote. It was carried.

Facebook Comments

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker