Breaking: Abiodun Sends List of New Commissioners to Ogun Assembly

Gov. Dapo Abiodun of Ogun on Thursday sent a list of 5 commissioner nominees to the state House of Assembly for confirmation.

The Speaker, Rt. Hon. Olakunle Oluomo, read the Governor’s letter dated 30th June, 2022 conveying the names at the plenary in Abeokuta stated, ” in furtherance of our Mission of building our dear State together and desire to improve the quality of service delivery to the good people of Ogun State, I write once again to appreciate Mr. Speaker and all members of the Honourable House for your unflinching support so far demonstrated for our Administration.

Mr. Speaker, please find attached, the list of nominees for the post of Commissioners for your consideration”.

The nominees are: Taiwo Oludotun, Hamzat Ganiyu, Adijat Adeleye-Oladapo, Ola Oresanya and Abayomi Hunye.

Oluomo thereafter committed the Governor’s nomination to the Selection Committee for further legislative actions.

In another development, the State House of Assembly Committee on Environment has challenged the State Waste Management Authority to improve on its waste disposal service across State to avert any untoward health implications.

The Committee Chairman, Hon. Wahab Haruna and another member, Hon. Adeyemi Ademuyiwa threw the challenge during the ongoing mid-year budget appraisal of Ministries, Departments and Agencies at the Assembly Complex, Oke-mosan, Abeokuta.

They stressed the need for the Ministry of Environment to redouble its effort in clearing garbages and refuse which littered some parts of the State to promote safe and healthy environment.

Responding, the Permanent Secretary in the Ministry, Engr. Raimi Ojetola, assured the lawmakers of the Ministry’s commitment to improved service, explaining that the Waste Management Authority had evolved new business models through effective partnership with private investors to solve the problem of waste management in the State.

He further disclosed that the agency had upgraded access roads leading to dump sites for easy accessibility of refuse trucks, improved road sweeping scheme and residential waste collection service, with a total of 146 purpose-built trucks (compactors) introduced successfully for waste collection by indigenous PSP contractors.

The House Committee also examined the half year budget performance reports of the State Environmental Protection Agency, the State Emergency Management Agency, Ministries of Transportation and that of Special Duties, State Independent Electoral Commission and Printing Corporation amongst others.

Facebook Comments

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker