Election Petition Tribunal: Ogun PDP in Multiple Loses

A day after it’s loss at the Presidential Election Petition Tribunal in Abuja, the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) in Ogun State has suffered multiple loss at the National Assembly Petition Tribunal in cases decided on Thursday.

The elections of All Progressives Congress (APC) members from Ogun State in the National Assembly , five of them, that were being challenged at the Tribunal sitting in Abeokuta were all delivered in favour of the APC and its candidates at the last National Assembly elections.

Senator Solomon Adeola Olamilekan, elected as Senator representing Ogun West Senatorial District won against the petitioners, as his election was adjudged credible and in compliance with the Constitution and the Electoral Act 2022. In the suit EPT/OG/SEN/02/2023 Dada Ganiyu Adeleke & Anor v. INEC & 2 Ors, apart from being dismissed, are the petitioners were also fined N500,000 each.

Other APC National Assembly members who won theirs suits at the Tribunal on Thursday include Hon. Isiaka Ibrahim, Ewekoro federal constituncy, in suit EPT/OG/HR/08/2023 Akala Simon Oluwole v. INEC & 2 Ors; Hon. Ishiaq Akinlade of Egbado South/Ipokia Federal Constituency federal constituency in suit EPT/OG/HR/06/2023 Hosu Emmanuel Adeniyi & Anor. v. INEC & 2 Ors; Hon. Afolabi Afuape of Abeokuta South federal constituency, in suit EPT/OG/HR/04/2023 Amuzu Oluwatoyin Anthony & Anor v. INEC & 2 Ors; and Hon. Gboyega Nasir Isiaka of Yewa North/Imeko Afon federal constituency in suit EPT/OG/HR/10/2023 Eweje Titus Olusoji & Anor v. INEC & 2 Ors.

The Justice Kabir Dabo–led three-man panel dismissed Adeleke’s petition for “lacking in merit” and affirmed Senator Adeola of the All Progressives Congress as the validly elected lawmaker for Ogun West as declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission.
In the case of Hon. Afuape, just like others, the Tribunal in its ruling, delivered by Hon. Justice K. Dabo, the chairman of the tribunal, and concurred to by the other members, Hon. Justice C. K. Okereke and Hon. Justice Dr. O. David Gbasam, the petition filed by the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) and its candidate, Toyin Amuzu, was dismissed and described as “frivolous, unmeritorious, and devoid of substance.” N500,000 was awarded against the petitioners.

All the other petitions were similarly thrown out on jurisdictional and substantive grounds thereby solidifying the emergence of the APC’s candidates. With these decisions, the perceived uncertainty as to the electoral victory of the APC has been put to rest and will remain so, unless any contrary decision is reached on appeal.

Facebook Comments

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker