Life & Styles

Agric Commissioner, Odedina Lauds Gov. Abiodun for restoring Mapoly to his glory as he bagged distinguished Alumni Merit Award

It was a gathering of the cream of Alumni of the prestigious citadel of Higher learning in the state, the Moshood Abiola Polytechnic as the Committee of Distinguished Alumni (CODA) of the Polytechnic Alumni conferred the distinguished Alumni Merit Award on the Honourable Commissioner for Agriculture in the state, Dr. Adeola Odedina and other distinguished alumni.

Odedina who was a former Rector of the institution, was conferred with the Award as a mark of honour for his contributions to the growth and development of the institution at the colourful event held at Spices event centre, Oke- Ilewo Abeokuta

Dr. Odedina said he dedicate the Award to the Governor of Ogun State, Prince Dapo Abiodun for restoring Mapoly to its glory.

He said “first of all, we must all realised that through the efforts of one person; through the determination of one person to restore Mapoly, that is why we have what we are celebrating today. This is because, if there is no Mapoly, we can’t be having what we are having today.

The Commissioner further stated, ” When His Excellency came on board, he made deliberate efforts to restore Mapoly to its glory. The Rector mentioned it that the Governor sent a high powered team to NBTE and the reward of that effort is why we are having this celebration.

Dr. Odedina said the Governor on assumption of office made a conscious efforts to ensure the engagement of the youths in Agriculture by engaging over 150,000 youths directly in Agriculture, saying when we resolve the issue of youths unemployment, the problem of insecurity can be nipped in the bud.

The Guest Speaker who was the Former Executive Secretary Nigeria Broadcasting Commission, Mr Eddy Aina while speaking on the issue of security and development observed that there can not be development without security. He said insecurity is very rife in Nigeria as terrorist are becoming audacious. He also noted that the economic problem of insecurity is enormous

On what insecurity has done to this country, the guest speaker said the oil sector which ought to be a boom for the nation is now a doom as so many companies have folded up.

The representative of the Governor, who is the Special Adviser to the Governor on Education Professor Joseph Odemuyiwa observed that the problem of insecurity must be squarely addressed.

He said if we want to eradicate insecurity in Nigeria, our education must be qualitative, saying that the Ogun state government has approved the quest of Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, Abeokuta to commence the Award of Bachelor of Technology degree to make it a degree awarding institution..

The Rector of the Institution, Dr.Adeoye Adedeji in a remark eulogised Dr. Adeola Odedina for raising the bar of governance at Mapoly while he was the Rector while also eulogising the Alumni Association for their sterling contributions to the development of the institution.

He charged the Alumni to do more for the development of the institution in order to continue to reposition it for excellence.

He said ” As you are celebrating, I want to implore this esteemed association that despite your numerous efforts so far to also figure out some key areas where your contributions could be gravely felt ; such as hostel facilities, high- tech laboratories and workshops, expansion/ upgrading of Mapoly Integrated Service Company
(AMAPINSCO)among others.

The National President, Mapoly Alumni Association, Pastor Ezekiel Oresanya reminded the Awardees that the Award confer on them mandatory continuous support to Mapoly, noting that the institution still has challenges and issues to be addressed, and as awardees, there Sphere of influence is needed.

Other awardees include the General Manager of NTA Abeokuta, Mrs. Funmi Wakama, Tpl. Waheed Kadiri, Arc. Tokunbo Fowode, Prof. Oludele Itiola.

The Committee of Distinguished Alumni Award is the highest recognition given by Moshood Abiola Polytechnic Alumni Association.

Awards of CODA was also bestowed on a cross section of eminent personalities, which include traditional rulers, Agura of Gbagura and the Olota of Ota.

Other Alumni who received award include Pastor Anthony Adeniji, Arc. S. O. S. Oladipo, Alhaji H. O. Ayoade, Evang, Seye Adeboye, Mr. Ade Adeyemi, Mr. Kunle Orekoya, Dr. Seyi Soremekun, Pastor Temitope Oduseso, Hon. Olamide Lawal, Alhaji Adediran Ashiru and Mr. Lanre Oyegbola.

Facebook Comments

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker