#NigeriaDecides: Atiku defeats Buhari in Edo


    The candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Atiku Abubakar, has defeated President Muhammadu Buhari of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in last Saturday’s presidential election in Edo state with a margin of 7,849 votes.

    Announcing the results, the INEC Collation Officer in the state, Ndowa Lare, said Atiku polled 275,691 votes to defeat Buhari who got 267,691 votes.

    Lale said the total number of registered voters in the state was 2,150,127 while the total number of accredited voters was 604,915.

    He said the number of valid votes was 560,711, just as 38,517 votes were rejected while the total number of votes cast was 599,228.

    reports that Atiku won in eight local governments while Buhari won in ten local governments.

    Atiku won in Esan North East, Ovia North East, Egor, Oredo, Esan South East, Esan West, Esan Central and Ipoba-Okha local governments.

    Buhari won in Etsako West, Akoko-Edo, Igueben, Ovia South West, Etsako East, Owan East, Owan West and Esako Central, Uhumwonde and Orhionwon local governments.

    The presidential election results, according to the INEC collation officer, are as follow:

    READ ALSO:  OGHA Madates Insurance Scheme For Amotekun Corps, As Bill Scales Second Reading

    Etsako Central local government

    APC 11,437

    PDP 9,011

    Owan West local government

    APC 12,524

    PDP 10,758

    Esan North East local government

    APC 7,991


    Owan East local government


    PDP 15,221

    Etsako East local government

    APC 16,151

    PDP 16,146

    Ovia North East local government

    APC 12,612

    PDP 15,706

    Ovia South West local government

    APC 11,511

    PDP 9,987

    Egor local government

    APC 12,482

    PDP 23,566

    Oredo local government

    APC21, 496

    PDP 34, 841

    Esan South East local government

    APC 11,039

    PDP 11,435

    Esan West local government

    APC 10,596

    PDP 16,013

    Igueben local government

    APC 7,503

    PDP 6,553

    Akoko-Edo local government

    APC 23,945

    PDP 17,511

    Ipoba-Okha local government

    APC 25,404

    PDP 30122

    Etsako West local government

    APC 31,336

    PDP 11,395

    Esan Central local government

    APC 8,691

    PDP 9,512

    Uhumwonde local government

    APC 9969

    PDP 9766

    Orhionwon local government

    APC 15,099

    PDP 13,787

    Facebook Comments